Actual map from Moldova, KETROSY or CHETROSU is in Soroca district, 100 miles from SOROCA city where many Kitroser's were born and several mass burials killed during nazi occupation.

cHETROSUSamuel Kitroser visited the town in 1987.-

Moldova, formerly the Soviet Republic of Moldavia, became independent in 1991.  A small, landlocked country northwest of the Black Sea, it is bordered by Ukraine on the north, east, and south, and by Romania on the west.  Known historically as BESSARABIA, Moldova forms the eastern half of the historic region of Moldavia;  the western half is in Romania.
Moldova's topography is a gently rolling plain, bounded on the west by the Prut River, which forms the frontier with Romania. The DNESTR RIVER flows through the eastern part of the country.

Ethnic Moldovans, who constitute about two-thirds of the population, speak Romanian.  The principal minorities are Russians and Ukrainians, concentrated in the narrow strip of land east of the Dnestr, and the Gagauz people, a Turkish-speaking group concentrated in the southwest.  In addition to KISHINEV (Chisinau), the capital, the largest cities are Tiraspol (182,000), Belstsy (159,000), and Bendery (130,000;  all 1989).

Russia annexed Bessarabia, the area between the Prut and the Dnestr, from Ottoman Turkey as a result of the Russo-Turkish War of 1806-12 but lost it to Romania in 1918.  To affirm its claim to the area, in 1924 the USSR established a small token Moldavian Autonomous republic within the Soviet Ukraine, on the east bank of the Dnestr.  In 1940 the USSR recovered Bessarabia and transformed it into the Moldavian Soviet Socialist Republic.
An independence movement emerged in the Moldavian SSR during the late 1980s, and a Moldavian nationalist government was elected to office in 1990.  Its conflicts with the Gagauz, who had formed a nationalist movement of their own, led to military intervention by the Soviet government in November of that year. Along with most of the other Soviet republics, Moldavia declared its independence in August 1991, and changed its name to Moldova, the traditional Romanian name for the country.

Republic of Moldova
Area: 33,700 sq km (13,012 sq mi).
Capital and largest city: Kishinev (Chisinau)--2010 pop., 724,000.
Population (1992 est.): 4,458,435; density: 132.3 per sq km (343 per sq mi).